IS FASHION GOING OVERBOARD??

I love fashion.
Love it. I scoff when people make fun of outrageous outfits, things like Louis Vuitton bunny ears or really high heels, and totally crazy shapes. I also used to scoff when people remarked how skinny or thin fashion models are.
And to a certain degree, I’m still annoyed when people make generalizations like this. There are plenty of people out there who are naturally thin and tall, like many fashion models. However, I’ve lately realized that there are some models out there that are just not okay. Beyond whether or not the individual models themselves are unhealthy or have an eating disorder, I question if it’s okay to cast such models for jobs because of the image they set out, and the notion that it’s okay to look like this for the sake of fashion.

Obviously, this is a very huge and serious issue and I can’t cover everything about the topic in one simple blog entry, but I’m just giving a gist of what I think.

I’m going to share this with you:
A BMI (body mass index) of 17.5 on the runway is considered “big”.
That is absolutely horrifying.
Generally, a BMI of 18.5 and under is considered underweight.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

