THE MASSIVE WEIGHT HAS BEEN LIFTED

Today, I withdrew from my enrollment at USF. I realized that spending over $80,000 for two years when I don’t even know what major or degree I want to persue, is a silly idea and a huge waste of time an money. I decided that I am going to attend City College for two to two and half years and transfer, possibly back to USF or San Francisco State. It’s a shame that the careers that I really love happen to not necessarily require a degree. I want to work in fashion, possibly a magazine doing styling, I want to do acting part time, I want to work on the sets of dramas.

My fear is that i will become one of those average people who live from paycheck to paycheck living like an ordinary person. I do have a lot of things that I want to do but a lot of it is based on luck and connections. Leaving USF only after two weeks, I feel it is a good decision but now I feel more determined to just take care of my shit at City. I have to stay on top of things because I really don’t feel like staying there for more than 2 1/2 years.

Luckily with the support of friends, I feel comfortable taking this path because it feels better. May be not the best but I feel relieved than having to stay USF. It’s a good school where the teachers are committed, don’t get me wrong. But degree and academic wise, I still don’t know what I would do, or what type of degree would best match the careers that I want to do. With acting, I feel you don’t need a degree, really. It’s great to take classes but acting is like modeling in a way. If they don’t like your look ,they just DONT like it and there’s nothing you can really do about it.

With fashion, I don’t want to be a designer, I want to work in a fashion magazine, a stylist otr make up artist and you don’t need to go to school for that either. I’m just a little worried about my future right now, but I think that City is a smart choice for me  financially since I am still in  a state where I’m “discovering who I am” or whatever cli-che that is. I really want to find another job in retail possibly but only if I like the clothes or whatever the store is selling, otherwise I’ll just be more misreable than before, FINGERS CROSSED!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

