Another Word On Proposition 8

I began this entry last Wednesday when the news came out, but never finished it until now due to my trip to Southern California. Nevertheless, it’s still relevant..

I remember I was at queer prom last year, and I received a text from my sister saying my photo was in TIME magazine.
I was super excited just because TIME magazine evokes memories of my grandfather. Growing up, I’d go to his house everyday and sit next to him reading it, and he gave me and my sister a two year long subscription to it. I really wonder what he would’ve said if he saw that photo of me. I really wish he could have seen it.

Anyway, when I went home and saw the picture, I laughed at how my sister made such a big deal out of a small photo. But now when I look at it I feel so happy. I see me when I first began to really come to terms with being queer, and it was me maturing, going through high school, growing up. I’m pretty sure this protest was in May 2009; it wasn’t all too long ago, yet I feel I’ve come so far from the girl in the photo. And it just makes me have so much hope for the future.

Overall, I’m not surprised that Prop 8 has been overturned. We put so much hard work into it, and undoubtedly those who oppose the Peace Industry (Yoko Ono says the world is divided into two types of people–those in the Peace Industry and those in the War Industry–and I believe her) will continue to waste more money and energy on harming queer folks, but it’s obvious where the tide is turning and folks all over this country are learning about queer people and the liberation that we deserve.

Every day, change is happening. It’s from the little things that we do.

It’s obvious that the fight is not over–we knew that it would be long and drawn out from the beginning. But when the next obstacle comes, we won’t even see any option other than to fight. It’s unquestionable.

However, I really feel the need to highlight one thing–and it’s the image that our present-day queer rights movement is focused on marriage and the military. Often times when people bring up queer issues, that’s what they say- Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell or Prop 8, and while those are important, why is it the focus of this movement? This extreme focus adverts seriously needed attention away from the many issues within the queer community, especially between different groups within the queer community. To be honest, the sexism, racism, classism, and other systems of oppression I see put in place in the queer community is more of an issue to me. Political change comes from everyday people fighting for what they believe in, and one can positively affect social change by doing small things everyday. Don’t use hate speech, speak up against homophobic remarks, or challenge heterosexist ideas. There are things everyone can do, not just queer people, but also allies.. and it’s really important that folks start to see that if we want to win marriage equality, we must first address the many injustices within our communities and confront our own prejudices.

V xx

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

