TRAGEDY BEFORE THE START OF MEN’S SPRING 2011 FASHION WEEK

OMGGGG Sooooo… I’ve been sad this whole week because another young, very loved male model, TOM NICON,  has passed away last week, one day before the start of Men’s Fashion week. The rumors were that he fell from his apartment window in Milan, 5 floors high. I was serioudly stricken and shocked that this happened to someone so young. I kept thinking, he had so much ahead of him in his life, he was only 22. The fact that it was just cut short made me really sad and I thought about how his family and friends must be dealing with this. Even though I didn’t know him and I felt depressed, I couldn’t imagine how much pain and hardship the people close to him are struggling right now and imagining what they could’ve done to save his life.

He was a very famous face for Burberry, Louis Vuitton, Versace, and Hugo Boss. People who worked with him said that he was a really nice, sweet guy and were shocked when they heard what happened.

A male model friend of his said that Tom was at his scheduled Versace fitting and was shocked by the incident. He quoted “People think we are young and beautiful and rich and happy. But we’re not. We go to castings and the directors take one look at us and then we’re dismissed. You spend your whole life wondering what’s wrong with you. Why didn’t I get that job? You’re competing with your friends, you’re away from your family. The pressure is huge. It’s not the fairytale life people would expect.”

After a few days after the tragic death, police have been specualting and figuring out what might’ve really happened. I’ve been acting like a crazy person looking for updates and news on the sad death of Tom Nicon and just wondering WHAT REALLY HAPPENED?? And his morning, I found an article from styleist.com, http://www.stylelist.com/2010/06/21/tom-nicon-dies-suicide/

The news that his death was a suicide made the cut deeper for me. Everytime I hear suicide, I always think to myself. It would take one person to do something and change his life. If someone he knew went o see him, I just felt that something could be different and that he would still be here with us today.

The news said that his suicide was the cause of a break-up he had with his girlfriend and was really depressed about it. The article states: “Police investigating the case are treating it as a suicide and told the Daily Mail that his death might have been spurred by romantic troubles”

“We have spoken to the friends he was staying with and they have told us that he had recently broken up with his girlfriend and was depressed.

I’m still shocked and really sad about what happened and I still can’t belive it. It’s too surreal, I just can’t understand why it had to happen to him. He didn’t deserve to die, espcially at his age. There are so many people who do harm in this world and yet they are still alive? WTF? TOM NICON came across as a cute, dorky, sweet guy that was really down to earth, and really… he was taken too soon.

LOVE and LIGHT Tom, R.I.P. , The fashion world will miss you and I will too

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-TQ8QKsTOs

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

